Natural burial cemeteries in New Zealand

There are 5 certified Natural Burial sites in New Zealand. These sites are certified by ‘Natural Burials’, a not for profit organisation who introduced certification of natural burial sites in New Zealand. ‘Natural Burials’ also provide information to local councils on establishing such sites. Visit their website.

As at August 2020 there are 5 certified natural burial cemeteries:

Wellington – Makara Cemetery

Carterton – Clareville Natural Cemetery

Kapiti – Otaki Cemetery

New Plymouth – Awanui Cemetery

Marlborough – Fairhall Natural Cemetery. Contact

The non-certified cemeteries in New Zealand are:

Invercargill – Eastern Cemetery

Dunedin – Green Park Cemetery

Nelson – Marsden Valley Cemetery

Motueka – Motueka Cemetery. Contact

Thames – Omahu in Hikutaia. Contact

Auckland – Waikumete Cemetery. Contact

Hamilton – Forest Grove Hamilton Park Cemetery


This product has been added to your cart